The Best Philippine Short Stories
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

The Best Philippine Short Stories

Written by: Estrella Alfon, Lilia Pablo Amansec, Francisco Arcellana, et al. 

An Anthology of Philippine Fiction in English

The modern form of the short story is magnificently showcased in this anthology of fifty selections in English written by Filipinos in the last century. Edited by literary critic Isagani R. Cruz, this collection spans from 1925 to 1998.

In this book readers will meet both famous and unfamiliar writers in both conventional and unexpected renditions of the genre. Although many of the stories are acknowledged masterpieces, the editor also chose stories on the basis of their ability to represent a particular author or decade. The stories of the 25 men and women writers represented here depict a vast gamut of human experience and emotions that, collectively, produce a stunning portrait of Philippine life and society.

Dr. Cruz is a professor of literature at De Lasalle University, where he is also publisher of DLSU Press. He is himself a multi-awarded author and columnist, and the founding chair of the Manila Critics Circle. In a country where English has been the medium of instruction since the turn of the century, it is but fitting for the Philippines to share with the rest of the world its own vibrant treasury of short fiction. This richly satisfying collection represents the very best to emerge out of the Philippines in our century.

Authors: Estrella Alfon, Lilia Pablo Amansec, Francisco Arcellana, Lydia V. Arguilla, Tita Lacambra Ayala, Cirilo F. Bautista, Paz Marquez Benitez, Gregorio Brilliantes, Carlos Bulosan, Ines Taccad Cammayo, Amador T. Daguio, Jose Y. Dalisay, Jr., D. Paolo Dizon, Mig Alvarez Enriquez, Gilda Cordero-Fernando, Aida Rivera-Ford, N.V.M. Gonzales, Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, Luning Bonifacio Ira, Nick Joaquin, F. Sionil Jose, Ibrahim Jubaira, Susan S. Lara, Paz Latorena, Juan Cabreros Laya, Jaime An Lim, Paulino Lim, Alfredo E. Litiatco, Rosario Cruz Lucero, Connie Jan Maraan, Resil B. Mojares, Lina Espina Moore, Carmen Guerrero Nakpil, Charlson Ong, Loreto Paras Sulit, Kerima Polotan-Tuvera, Alejandro R. Roces, Ninotchka Rosca, Arturo B. Rotor, Bienvenido N. Santos, Lakambini Sitoy, Edilberto Tiempo, Edith L. Tiempo, Rowena T. Torrevillas, Jose Garcia Villa, Marianne Villanueva, Alfred A. Yuson, Jessica Zafra 

Size: 7 x 9.25 in
ISBN: 971-630-125-1
Year Published: 2000

Back to top